What is Classification?

In the Victorian Public Service (VPS), jobs are organised according to classifications to reflect the value of the work performed. Some of the classifications include a wide variety of occupations.

Where the VPS classification has numbers after the code, this shows a classification structure. The number '1' is the lowest level in the classification. You can apply for higher-level roles to progress your career.

Different salary ranges apply for each classification, based on the 'work value' of the role. Job Description show the salary range. Generally appointments are made at the base of the range. Progression through the salary range is based on your annual performance assessment.

AH1 - 4Allied Health Worker
ACArticled Clerk
AFW1 - 2Agricultural Farm Worker
AWU1A, 1B, 1C, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3BField Worker
CAFW1 - 6Child, Adolescent and Family Welfare Officer
COG1 - 6Custodial Officer
DDSO1 - 9Disability Development and Support Officer
EO1 - 3Executive Officer
FO1 - 7Forensic Officer
FSO1, 2,3, 4, 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D, 5EFacility Services Officer
HCSOHousing Customer Service Officer
HSO1 - 3Housing Services Officer
NG3BPrimary School Nurse
NG4ASecondary School Nurse
NG4BMaternal & Child Health Nurse
PS1Principal Scientist
PSOLPrincipal Solicitor
SMASenior Medical Adviser
SNRNSenior Nurse
SSOLSenior Solicitor
STSSenior Technical Specialist
TA1Trades Assistant
TA3Trades Coordinator
TA4Trades Coordinator
VPSG1 - 6VPS Officer
OtherPublic sector agency roles